SharePoint 2010 fun fact: Did you know both the Publishing Portal and Enterprise Wiki site definitions use the Lockdown Feature?

I was going about my SharePointing for the day and Randy Drisgill hits me up on IM and asks me if the Enterprise Wiki has the Lockdown Feature enabled.  Honestly, I hadn’t ever really thought about it much but I thought I’d humor him and give it a try.  So I opened up the site definitions (onet.xml) for both the Publishing Portal and Enterprise Wiki.  Much to my surprise – what did I see?

<!– ViewFormPagesLockDown –>
<Feature ID="7C637B23-06C4-472d-9A9A-7C175762C5C4" />

To make sure I wasn’t seeing something I tried to go activate the lockdown feature on sites created from both templates.  Here’s what that looked like:

image

What does this mean?  Well for starters it means that right out of the box both the Publishing Portal and Enterprise Wiki are locked down to prevent anonymous users from poking their noses into places where they probably shouldn’t.  With MOSS 2007 there were a few quirks anonymous users might run into if the lockdown feature was enabled – it usually occurred in collaboration type scenarios.  I haven’t yet been able to identify where this might cause issues or if at all.  If you do happen to run into anything please feel free to add it to the comments or contact me and I’ll be sure to update this post.

Leave a Reply

